Thank You for…

Dirty wood floors.  Piled-up laundry on the table.  The budget. Not having a car.  Being lonely.

As I was praying this morning, I felt the Lord stir me to thank Him for everything that I feel bad about.

I did.  I can’t say why, but it helped.  Maybe because it was obedience, or maybe because He helped me to see a few silver linings… but this also came to mind:

Job 1:20 At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship 21 and said:

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb,
and naked I will depart. [c]
The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away;
may the name of the LORD be praised.”

22 In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing.

It strikes me that even in my grumpiness, God meets me and, rather than asking me to change, he just beckons my obedience, and tenderly sets to the work of changing my heart himself.

That is why I love Him.

Leave a Reply

