“You Have To Know How To Cope”

The newest phase of my healing… I am reading an old 80s YA fiction on astronaut kids.  I love it.  It’s right out of that genre of Space Camp, etc., triggering kids to feel like they could all become astronauts.  I believed that, when I was a kid.  My math and science ended up not being so great… really lost a lot of steam there.  Haha.  But I hope that one day I will still be able to visit space.  I think that will be possible, in my lifetime… and affordable.  🙂

So, in one of the chapters, there is an emergency procedure being run through where the kids learn they “need to know how to cope with problems” that may come up.   I felt like the Lord told me this is something for me, too!  Last night my small group Bible Study had a worship night… great stuff… during which I felt the Lord nudge me to “renounce depression.”  Depression is a classic response of mine to issues, frustrations, blocks or dislikes.  I might curl up in a ball before I even realize it… just to “cope” with the hurt that I feel, or the anger or frustration….

So, instead of just allowing the depression to hang out, I am learning to denounce it.  To say, “Get outta here!  You don’t belong!”  And turn to the Lord for a better way of coping with whatever is going on in my life.

Right now, I’m the Mom of a 7-month-old and a teenager, in a blended family, and a stay-at-home-wife without a car, and any one of those things could come with major emotional taxes…. put them together, and you have me staying inside and not wanting to get dressed, simply because it all seems too much to deal with.  And, by the way, where’s the food?  Let me eat.  And what’s on TV, or better yet, Netflix?

Maybe I’m beating myself up just a little too much… another issue.  Ugh.  It’s just possible that I am coping by resting and doing these things that I *do* enjoy.  And I don’t do them all day, I don’t have laundry piling up and dishes in the sink from a month ago (been there, done that, don’t like coming out of it).  I am doing what I can, as I can.

Anyway… the coping part is the trick.  We can’t avoid the problems or the frustrations or even the hurt… can we!  No, but we have a safe God who loves us, and loves us even when we just lay there in our PJs, eating instead of working out or watching TV instead of going outside.  But, let’s try to do something a little healthier once in a while, huh?  Yeah, baby.  You and me.  Let’s go.  🙂

5 thoughts on ““You Have To Know How To Cope”

  1. Very convicting My Dear!

    I have been where you are and some days are harder than others. Praise God we have the Lord. Thank you for including me on your blog!

    I love you!
    Beth

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog ! I also am so thankful that we have a God who loves us through all the daily emotions. As someone who has suffered from depression and who still has anxiety issues I know how important it is to turn to Him to free us from it all. He wants better for us than to just cope with it all. I have wasted so many years just wanting to make it though another day and it seems like such a waste . I look forward to reading more of your blog.

  3. Very good, Dottie. You’re reminding me to do things I know to do. Isn’t that often the way? 🙂

Leave a Reply

